Skip to content

A New Project

16 July, 2012

So I have a lot of free time right now since I’m working at Chickfila.  It’s the first job I’ve had in about 7 years that hasn’t really required me to think about it at night, which is awesome. That includes school, of course, which will flop itself into my life again soon, thereby likely annulling the ambition I have to complete this project.  But, I at least have somewhere to start and something to say, so I’ll start there.

Getting married and moving into our new house, Melinda and I noticed that we have a whole lot of books that we’ve never read.  I love books.  So that means that I also have a lot of books on my Kindle that I’ve never read.  How can you pass up Challies‘ free Kindle deals?  You can’t.

So I want to start a project, and use this blog as a sort of accountability.  I’m going to try to read all the books I have never read.  I’m going to try to read old ones and new ones intermittently, but unfortunately I have much more new ones than old ones right now.  That could change, as long as I don’t go to any more conferences like T4G, where you get every new book you could ever want.

I have finished a few very interesting books in the last couple of weeks, including Evangellyfish by Douglas Wilson, Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller, and one no one’s ever heard of, Petals by Rebekah Roberts, a local Normanite who just released her first book.  I’m slightly embarrassed that I read it, and its going to be humbling to post a public review of it, but hey, I know the author.  She comes to Providence Road sometimes.  And I think its pretty cool that she’s written a full length novel and sells a Kindle edition on Amazon (I even think the hardback is for sale now).

I just started The Explicit Gospel by Matt Chandler.  Its a buzz-book, I know.  But its good.  Really good, from the introduction through the first couple of pages of the first chapter, which is about how far I’ve gotten.  So look forward to a review of that soon.

Anyway, I’m going to try to post about each book I read, whether it’s good, bad, ugly, or even great.  And there are a lot of great books out there, so you might be surprised.  I’ll try to be humorous and keep your attention, but I make no promises.

Love you guys.  Look for a review soon.  If not, get on my case.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

