Skip to content

Why Me?

20 September, 2010

Job asked that once, at the end of a long, long line of bad days.  Terrible days.  Days worse than you and I could imagine probably.

Then, God answered Job out of the whirlwind and said,

“Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge?

Gird up your loins like a man; I will question you and you will make it known to me.

Where were you when I laid the foundation of the Earth? Tell me, if you have understanding.

Who determined its measurements–surely you know! Or who stretched the line upon it?

On what were its bases sunk, or who laid its cornerstone, when the morning stars sang together and all the sons of God shouted for joy?

Or who shut in the sea with doors when it burst out from the womb, when I made clouds its garment and thick darkness its swaddling band, and prescribed limits for it and set bars and doors, and said, ‘Thus far shall you come, and no father, and here shall your proud waves be stayed’?

Have you commanded the morning since your days began, and caused the dawn to know its place, that it might take hold of the skirts of the Earth, and the wicked be shaken out of it? It is changed like clay under the seal, and its features stand out like a garment.  From the wicked their light is withheld and their uplifted arm is broken.

Have you entered into the springs of the sea, or walked in the recesses of the deep?
Have the gates of death been revealed to you, or have you seen the gates of deep darkness?
Have you comprehended the expanse of the Earth?

Declare, if you know all this.

Where is the way to the dwelling of light, and where is the place of darkness, that you may take it to its territory and that you may discern the paths to its home? You know, for you were born then, and the number of your days is great!

Have you entered the storehouses of the snow, or have you seen the storehouses of the hail, which I have reserved for the time of trouble, for the day of battle and war?

What is the way to the place where the light is distributed, or where the east wing is scattered upon the Earth?

Who has cleft a channel for the torrent of rain and a way for the thunderbolt, to bring rain on a land where no man is, on the desert in which there is no man, to satisfy the waste and desolate land, and to make the ground sprout with grass?

Has the rain a father, who who has begotten the drops of dew?

From whose womb did the ice come forth, and who has given birth to the frost of heaven? The waters become hard like stone, and the face of the deep is frozen.

Can you bind the chains of the Pleiades or loose the cords of Orion?
Can you lead forth the Mazzaroth in their season, or can you guide the Bear with its children?
Do you know the ordinances of the heavens? Can you establish their rule on the earth?

Can you lift up your voice to the clouds, that a flood of waters may cover you?

Can you send forth lightnings, that they may go and say to you, ‘Here we are’?

Who has put wisdom in the ibis or given understanding to the mind?

Who can number the clouds by wisdom? Or who can tilt the waterskins of the heavens, when the dust runs into a mass and the clods stick fast together?

Can you hunt the prey for the lion, or satisfy the appetite of the young lions, when they crouch in their dens or lie in wait in their thicket?

Do you give the horse his might? Do you clothe his neck with a mane? Do you make him leap like a locust? His majestic snorting is terrifying. He paws in the valley and exults in his strength; he goes out to meet the weapons.  He laughs at fear and is not dismayed; he does not turn back from the sword.  Upon him rattle the quiver, the flashing spear and the javelin.  With fierceness and rage he swallows the ground; he cannot stand still at the sound of the trumpet.  When the trumpet sounds, he says, ‘Aha!’ He smells the battle from afar, the thundering of the captains, and shouting.

Is it by your understanding that the hawk soars and spreads his wings toward the south?
Is it at your command that the eagle mounts up and makes his nest on high?
On the rocks he dwells and makes his home, on the rocky crag and stronghold. From there he spies out his prey; his eyes behold it afar off.  His young one suck up blood, and where the slain are, there is he.”

And the LORD said to Job, “Shall a faultfinder contend with the Almighty? He who argues with God, let him answer it.”

Then Job answered the LORD and said:

“Behold, I am of small account; what shall I answer you? I lay my hand on my mouth. I have spoken once, and I will not answer; twice, but I will proceed no further.”

Then the LORD answered Job out of the whirlwind and said:

Gird up your loins like a man; I will question you, and you make it known to me.

Will you even put Me in the wrong? Will you condemn me so that you may be in the right?  Have you an arm like God, and can you thunder with a voice like his?

Adorn yourself with majesty and dignity; clothe yourself with glory and splendor.  Pour out the overflowings of your anger, and look on everyone who is proud and abase him.

Look on everyone who is proud and bring him low and tread down the wicked where they stand.  Hide them all in the dust together; bind their faces in the hidden place.

Then I will acknowledge to you that your own right hand can save you.

Then Job answered the LORD and said:
“I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted. ‘Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’  Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.
‘Hear, and I will speak; I will question you, and you will make it known to me.’
I had heard of you by the hearing of the hear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes.”

If I ask “Why me?” I am asking about things which I do not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.  All I know is that I had heard of Job’s God by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees him; therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    21 September, 2010 01:42

    My eyes have seen Him too…yet He is beyond my comprehension…which is wonderful!

  2. 22 September, 2010 06:03

    Hi!
    My name is Kimberly Young and I am a Hands-On Missionary in Chile. Rusty Pugh, one of the missionary’s in the Congo is a long time family friend of mine and I have been receiving many e-mails on you! Just wanted to let you know you are in my prayers. My dad was there last year around this time working on water treatments systems. I know God is doing big things there and I am excited to read your blog as he uses you for his work! Anyway, just wanted to let you know you are being prayed for! If there is anything I can ever do or pray about let me know!

    Many Blessings,

    Kimberly

    • 22 September, 2010 06:04

      BTW…Check out what God is doing here in Chile.

      kimbelrymy.wordpress.com

    • 22 September, 2010 07:41

      Hey Kimberly!

      Thanks for your prayers and for reading the blog! If your dad is R. Young, then I have been wearing out the level he left last year, haha. All those tools they left were money in the bank for sure.

      Way cool to know that you’re doing Hands-On! That is an awesome program.

      In Him,
      alan

  3. 22 September, 2010 08:18

    Hey, Alan. Glad I caught up with you yesterday. Great posts on your accident and what you’re learning. I was serious yesterday — please don’t hesitate to let us know how we can help you. We are here on the compound.

  4. Jim Moore permalink
    23 September, 2010 22:41

    Hi, Alan, your event and outcome have made us praise God so much! I had a similar event when I was a short term missionary in Malawi in 1989. I smashed into an oxcart in my minibus at night, caving in the right side of my forehead, and killing the oxcart driver (worse). I woke up in S. Africa, where I spent 6 weeks recovering from broken head, leg and arm. I didn’t think I’d go back to Malawi. But God amazed me; when the doctor released me he said he saw no problem with me going back. I did, and then I saw God’s plan. The villagers who saw the accident thought I was dead, or that I would never come back, and that a witch doctor had put a curse on me. The fact that I came back showed them that God is more powerful than the animistic spirits and witch doctors that have control over their lives! I was given the nickname “Cha Bwera” (Back From The Dead”). I went on serving the Lord there, and still am serving in missions through prayer and equipping through the church.

    Another amazing God-thing: we’ve had the Democratic Republic of the Congo on our church family prayer list for about a year, for some reason. I think I know now! We continue in prayer for you and other missionaries, and the Congo. In Christ, Jim

Leave a Reply

