Skip to content

I Am Not a Christian

24 November, 2009

Acts 11:19-30

 

I am not a Christian.  But I do follow Jesus Christ.

And I call Him Lord.

And I read His word, and I believe that He is the Word of God, and that He is God.

I am not a Christian but I will die for the name of Christ.  I will lay down my life so that someone who does not know the redemption that is offered through the name of Jesus Christ might know it.

I am not a Christian but I have faith.  And I have hope. And I have love.   And I trust that the greatest of these is love.  But only because faith and hope must end and become sight, but love never ends.  That is why love is the greatest gift.

I am not a Christian, but the Spirit of Christ lives inside of me.

I am not a Christian.  I am a talibe Yesu in an Arabic speaking country.

I am not a Christian.  I am not a missionary.  But I will tell people what God has done for me through Jesus Christ.  I will tell them for the rest of my life.  Even if I know that telling someone will cause my death.

I am not a Christian.  But I know for certain that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life, and no one comes to the Father except through Him.

I am not a Christian, but I know Jesus Christ who is the Spirit of God, who is God, has more power than any other spirit in all of creation, and that the spirits bow down to Him.  I know that He is the Most High God, the creator, and sustainer of all and in all.

I am not a Christian, but I have seen and know that Christ has power over death, power over sin, power over temptation, and power over Satan.  And I trust in Him alone for wisdom, strength, grace, mercy, guidance, and providence.

I am not a Christian.  You may call me that, but that is not what I am.

 

I am a servant, a son, and a follower of the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.

I live in the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky H. permalink
    29 November, 2009 23:32

    PtL… talibe Yessu to a people who are without His hope. Lifting you up Alan!!

  2. David Dennis permalink
    2 December, 2009 03:05

    I agree with you 100%. I was talking to another person at work and shared some of my bad experiences with people that are so called “Christians” and they hide behind the label “Christian”. They usually have the “fish” sign on the bumper of their car and if they don’t think you have treated them fairly, they ask if you are a “Christian”. I would much rather be a “Follower of Jesus Christ”.

  3. Alison permalink
    4 December, 2009 16:59

    Well said. This is what I’m fighting for. I appreciate your honesty 🙂

  4. Heidi permalink
    5 December, 2009 11:17

    Wow. Very well put.

Leave a Reply

